Tuesday, June 16, 2020

American Demon by @BurningBunnies #Book #Review

Synopsis:

A thrilling return to the #1 New York Times bestselling urban fantasy series, continuing Rachel Morgan’s story.


RACHEL MORGAN IS BACK–AND THE HOLLOWS WILL NEVER BE THE SAME.

What happens after you’ve saved the world? Well, if you’re Rachel Mariana Morgan, witch-born demon, you quickly discover that something might have gone just a little bit wrong. That the very same acts you and your friends took to forge new powers may have released something bound by the old. With a rash of zombies, some strange new murders, and an exceedingly mysterious new demon in town, it will take everything Rachel has to counter this new threat to the world–and it may demand the sacrifice of what she holds most dear.
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble 





My Review:
Rachel Morgan is back and trying to pick up the pieces of her life.  Ivy has decided to work with Nina at the FIB.  The church is basically destroyed and the only thing she has is Trent, her Elven prince.  Now suddenly zombies have been let loose in the city, and Inter-species couples are trying to kill each other.  Rachel must find out who is doing this before it's too late, and there's another occurrence.

I loved The Hollows series and was extremely sad to see it end.  I was happily surprised to see this new series and my favorite characters interacting again.  My most favorite character is Jenks, he always wants to take on these big guys and he's a tiny pixie. He may be little but he's also incredibly clever.  As always, I love that Rachel is a powerful, independent female character.  Kim Harrison has created an imaginative world that makes for a great series for fantasy lovers everywhere.

About the Author:
Kim Harrison is best known as the author of the New York Times #1 best selling Hollows series, but she has written more than urban fantasy and has published over two-dozen books spanning the gamut from young adult, thriller, several anthologies, and has scripted two original graphic novels. She has also published traditional fantasy under the name Dawn Cook. Kim is currently working on a new Hollows book between other, non related, urban fantasy projects.
Kim reaches out to her audience at Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KimHarrisons...
Instagram
https://instagram.com/kim_harrison_au...
and her blog http://kimharrison.wordpress.com/

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

All of Us #Netgalley #Book #Review

All of UsAll of Us by A.F. Carter

Synopsis:
All of Us is a riveting thriller with six compelling protagonists--who all share one body. Though legally she is Carolyn Grand, in practice she is Martha, a homemaker who cooks and cleans for her "family," Victoria, a put-together people person, Serena, a free spirit, Kirk, a heterosexual man, Eleni, a promiscuous risk-taker, and Tina, a manifestation of what is left of Carolyn after years of childhood sexual abuse. As they jockey for control of their body, all the personalities also work together to avoid being committed to a psychiatric facility. But Carolyn's tenuous normal is shattered when Hank Grand, the man who abused her and leased her out to pedophiles, is released from prison. Soon he begins stalking her, bringing back painful memories for all of the personalities.

When Hank is murdered in a seedy hotel room, Carolyn is immediately a prime suspect. But the man has other shady dealings, and the burden of proof weighs heavy on the police--especially when, propelled by demons of his own, one of the detectives assigned to the case finds his way into Carolyn's very solitary life.

The police and the reader are left wondering: are any of Carolyn's personalities capable of murder? A deeply suspenseful novel, with a truly unique cast of characters.
 
Purchase: Amazon  

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
My Review:
Carolyn Grand has very distinct multiple personalities. There's Eleni, the seductive one, Serena, the timid one, Martha, the one that does all the choresss, Victoria is the well dressed one, Tina is the little girl and then there's Kirk, he feels that he is a man stuck in a woman's body.

When Eleni accidentally solicits a detective, Carolyn Grand is forced to prove she's able to care for herself. She then finds out her father, the man that abused her, was being released from prison. All of her rage comes to the forefront as she realizes her psychiatrist isn't really trying to help her and her father has been murdered. Can she prove her innocence when she has no recollection of that night?

I loved this book, it really makes you think about what someone with this disorder goes through. Imagine having days, weeks, or months missing out of your life at a time. The descriptions were so vivid that you feel the frustrations and confusion, not knowing what she did and what happened on those missing days. The only part I wasn't very happy with was the very anti-climatic ending.

View all my reviews

The Second Home by @christi_clancy #Book #Review

Synopsis:

A debut novel set on Cape Cod that centers on a beloved family home and the summer that changed the lives of three siblings forever, perfect for readers of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand.


After a disastrous summer spent at her family's summer home on Cape Cod, seventeen year old Ann Gordon is left harboring a secret that changes her life forever, and creates a rift between her sister, Poppy, and their adopted brother, Michael.

Now, fifteen years later, her parents have died, and Ann and her sister Poppy are left to decide the fate of the old Wellfleet home that's been in the Gordon family for generations. While they both love the house, they decide to sell it and move forward. But then Michael re-enters their lives with a legitimate claim to a third of the estate. He wants the house. But more than that, he wants to set the record straight about that long ago summer.

Reunited after years apart, these very different siblings are forced to decide if they can continue to be a family--and in the process, they'll discover that the house might be the glue that holds them together.
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble 



My Review:

The story begins in the past, when Ann, Michael, and Poppy are in high school.  Michael's mother passed away and instead of being tossed around, the Gordon's take him in.  His second summer with them, he learns that they aren't as "perfect" as everyone thinks.  Everyone has their secrets, everyone.  When Connie and Ed pass away, the kids reunite after fifteen years.  These kids, once best of friends, are now like oil and water.  So many secrets has kept them apart, can they finally clear the air?

I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.  It was riveting, emotional, and thought provoking. I liked the toggle from past to present as each character reflected on their past.  This book had me tearing up as the things they had been through were brought to light.  This is a fantastic beach or rainy day read, just be sure to kleenex nearby.
👍👍👍👍👍



About the Author: 

Like the characters in THE SECOND HOME, I spent the summers of my youth on Cape Cod in the rugged and artsy town of South Wellfleet, MA. The outermost Cape is a place of steep sand dunes, pristine fresh water kettle ponds, salty air, scrub pine and oak trees. It's a place that has stayed with me everywhere I go.


My grandparents lived in a simple cove-side house that has been in our family since the 1890's. Writing this book has allowed me to imagine how other families spend their time in a place I feel I uniquely adore. It has also provided me with the opportunity to think about our fierce attachments to second homes -- from tiny, bat-filled cabins in the woods to grand seaside estates. These places we go back to again and again often define us, just as they define our families. When families change and the homes are passed down from generation to generation, these memory-filled receptacles can stress relationships or bring us closer together.

In addition to writing, I teach spin classes (the sweating, not the weaving kind) and I taught English at Beloit College for almost a decade. I've been writing short stories and essays that have appeared in The New York Times "Modern Love" column, The Washington Post, The Chicago Tribune, The Sun Magazine, and in literary journals like Glimmer Train Stories, Hobart, Pleiades, The Minnesota Review and on Wisconsin Public Radio. I have a PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

I live in Madison, Wisconsin with my very tall husband. We have two children, Olivia and Tim.